GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Just REVO'd my 2011 GTI

BenH

Ready to race!

Last edited:

Djunited1

Go Kart Champion
gratz. was wondering if the whole ecu adapting to the tune thing is true. guess i'll just have to put more miles lol

Mr.Alex

I Got That 6.
Yes, your ECU does take time to adapt to your tune.

Djunited1

Go Kart Champion
Yes, your ECU does take time to adapt to your tune.

lets say i drive normally for the 150miles.will it adapt fully or do i need to push it (i.e spirited driving) at times?

Mr.Alex

I Got That 6.
By adapt I mean it just needs to re-settle. For example the power transitions will become more smooth and linear, less jerky. Atleast thats how I saw/felt it, and it kinda become more capable/quicker.

I'd just drive how you did before the tune whether thats normal and push it at times or whatever.

Djunited1

Go Kart Champion
alright then, thx

GPM

Ready to race!
Glad to hear the new Revo install went well.

I'm new to the GTI and just spoke to the local Revo dealer today. He's still waiting for the hardware and hopes to be ready to install the tune in a week or so. Probably do an intercooler upgrade after that and then who knows...

untangle

Ready to race!
They advised that the tune will take about 150 miles to fully adapt but out of the box it's going to be very noticeable. I can definitely feel torque surge vs. OEM flat band so I would argue one needs to alter driving style to stay smooth during transitions. Down low from stop light it's OEM like and I do appreciate the tune's sharper throttle response for heel toeing. It is surprising to hear a subtle whine, is it from the compressor? If so that's the only refinement lost.

My perceptions of the tune are similar to yours.

Don't worry about adaptation, it'll happen transparently in the background. You might experience mild improvements in power, drivability, and fuel economy. You don't have to do anything special to make things happen.