GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Zoomer7's subtle (maybe for now) GTI build

Zoomer7

Ready to race!
Hi all,
Picked up my 4-door GTI DSG Autobahn a few months ago and LOVING this car. It's the perfect combination of speed, maturity, practicality, and price. I went on a long 5yr save-money hiatus with a Scion xB, so it's good to be back in the go-fast world. My aim is a "grown-up" subtle look, that isn't LOUD and in your face, but has quality modifications. I need it to haul around all my gear/luggage, yet still turn heads and beat a few mustangs at a track day while I'm at it. :thumbup:

My short story, I'm a car photographer, and former Art Director for such magazines as Import Tuner, Honda Tuning, Sport Compact Car, Turbo, and even dabbled with European Car a little. So I'm trying to use all of my years experience to build a clean GTI.

Build so far:'

Updated shots:

Engine (install courtesy of GMP Performance):
APR ECU flash stage 1
APR Carbonio intake
APR cat-back exhaust

Suspension:
D2 Racing street coilovers
UNIbrace UB, RB
BBS CH-R 18x8.5 et47 Titanium wheels w/ red centercaps
Michelin 225/40/18 Pilot Super Sport tires
VWR big brake kit LOVE!
SPM Front/Rear sway bars
TyrolSport DeadSet Rigid Subframe Collar Kit

Interior/Exterior:
OEM black front lip
S2T black paddle shifters (LOVE!)
Yakima/Whispbar roofrack
Parts4Euro.com smoked side markers
OEM LED tail lights (tinted)
Euro Image wiper delete

Sitting on floor but not on car yet
UNIbrace XB

Future:
Hell if I know now... lots and lots of miles!

Here's the last "tuned" car I had:
1999 Subaru 2.5 RS with more suspension mods than I can count.. I'm more about handling than power.

Stock:

The Process:

OEM LED tinted rear lights, Euro Image wiper delete, GTI badge

More to come soon! I have the BIG initial upgrades out of the way though... I think ;)

Last edited:

Zoomer7

Ready to race!
As I've said before, car looks great.

Car photographer, eh? Interesting.

Thanks!
Yea that's how I make my $$$