GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

3D Printing a DSG Shift Knob

vswagon

So I'm not sure how many of you have had this happen, but I have the DSG and recently noticed that the previous owner messed with the knob and somehow managed to break the tabs that held the two side accents in place. When I bought the car they seemed a little loose, but I didn't think much of it, but recently when I investigated it I realized they were basically epoxied in place and came off pretty easy. Nothing worse than a loose knob...

They barely stayed in place which bothered my OCD, so I went online to find a replacement and found out we don't have many options for the DSG... besides buying an entire shifter for $250+ which is not going to happen.

Long story short: I'm a professional geek and work at a 3D CAD software company so naturally I took it upon myself to simply remodel the part and 3D Print it using our Makerbot Replicator 2 last night.

It was sort of a pet project of mine for the last few days and here's how it turned out:

Since almost all the tabs on the back were broken and non-existent on the original piece, I over-designed the tabs and I am eyeballing the fitment and using a dremmel to make adjustments.

The hope is I will get a nice fit tonight and then reprint a stylized version with proper tabs and some graffiti-like geometry to make it a little more unique. I've done some 3D graffiti before and it looked pretty sweet so we'll see how it goes!

I'll be posting updates as I go and figured I'd share.

Cheers,
-Blake

Last edited:

GoodTimesIndeed

Go Kart Champion
Nice!

vswagon

Looks rough, but its a start! Rome wasn't built in a day! But I might be contacting you about me doing the same thing. My knob is loose as well...

Haha thanks man, yea this is the result of me spending a couple hours modeling and doing a rough print for sizing. Still have a good amount of messing around to do, but we'll get there :)