GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Review: South Bend Stage 2 Daily Driver (newest revision)

Fleron2301

Go Kart Champion
Good afternoon ladies and gents,

3 weeks ago I went stage 2. Upon leaving the shop, my clutch was slipping badly in 3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th. Great... I babied it for quite a while, and I dug deep into my savings to buy a new clutch (I am a college student). I heard and researched the stage 3 "drop in" disk. It had pretty good reviews all over, and I don't plan on K04 anytime soon. However my philosophy is to do it right the first time. So I wanted to go all out. Plus I thought, same labor cost either way, so I want a clutch that is going to last me the lifetime of the car.

I purchased a used stage 2 DD Clutch Kit from a user (Norsk / Greg), however to be refreshed with the new edition parts through South Bend Clutch. I had it installed yesterday at Axis Motoring in Orlando, a fantastic VW-focused shop.

Greg was selling this clutch kit in the classified section of these forums. He was selling it "refreshed" by South Bend for $850 without TOB, "with flywheel bolts". I managed to get it for $800 with shipping, which I thought was a good deal for what I expected to be like-new parts. The clutch had only been in used for 10K miles or less according to Greg, and Jon from South Bend had told Greg there was "95% life left on the clutch" and that the kit was in "excellent condition." I bought the NLS Clutch Shim Kit ($90) to avoid problems with shifting, a TOB (F revision, $100), and then paid $400 labor. Total was $1390 installed - $275 refund = $1115. I paid Greg on Tuesday the 9th. Greg handed the kit to SBC for refreshment on Tuesday, SBC shipped it to me Thursday, I got it Monday.